Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cabinetmaking/Woodworking Question (Amateur)

Hi,

I'm about to start a project which involves building the storage units for my walk in closet. I will be using a combination of cabinet boxes purchased from Ikea (mainly for the drawers, sorry I'm a rookie) and other components which I will make (supports and shelves for hanging rods etc...). We're going to go with white for these cabinets/shelves.

Now, my question. At HD, I've narrowed my options for the material from which to make the non-Ikea pieces from down to 2 options. First one is 3/4" paint grade maple veneered (both sides) ply ($55 for 4x8 sheet). I would cut this into 12" wide x 8' long pieces and work from those. The other are 12" x 3/4" x 8' long pine ($12 per piece) which are made up of 3 or so pieces butt jointed together. Just wondering if the pine option is OK? It's cheaper, and would be easier for me to work with I would think. My concern is that it would cup or warp over time. I will be painting them however.

Would the fact that the pine is made up of 4" wide pieces butt jointed together make it less susceptable to warping than a 12" wide single piece of pine? I would think so.

Any assistance or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks a lto,

Dan

Re: Cabinetmaking/Woodworking Question (Amateur)

I'm no expert and like you an amature... if I was you, I'd do the pine. Like you said, it would be easier for you to handle. As for warping, I've read that if you paint both sides you can reduce warping. Hope this helps.

Comment