X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R4511 dust chute: install or not?

Somewhere in all the great assembly tips on this board I've read the answer to this but even with the search function I can no longer find it.

I'm wondering whether or not to go ahead and install the dust chute and dust port. First question is, do you install the dust chute whether or not you're going to install the dust port? And since I've read here that considerable re-doing is required to install the dust port after the saw is put together, should I go ahead and install it now just in case I later get a DC system?

I have never used a DC system before; I've simply pushed my saws out of my small shop into the driveway and sawed away (I'm pretty low volume).

Unless it's really necessary I hadn't planned on a DC system at this time, if ever. Or should I just bite the bullet and get one of those HF cheapies or a Dust Deputy?

Thanks for opinions.

Ed

Re: R4511 dust chute: install or not?

By all mean, install it.
    It did not install mine and now I regret it.
    Even if you do not have a dust system, you can use a shop vac or even if necessary empty it by hand daily.
    To install mine now that I have installed a router table and an extension table I shall either have to dismantle everything or find a way the lifth the whole thing.
    One way or the other it is going to be a nightmare, I wish I had installed the dust pan to start with.
    Remember to install it BEFORE you install the Herculift.

I was looking a dust deputy yesterday, they are tempting.
    Did you see this guy who made his own?

http://lumberjocks.com/projects/19069

Bert
    Last edited by b2rtch; 01-20-2010, 12:13 PM.

Comment

Hey Bert, thanks for the reply.

Are you saying to install both the chute and the port, or just the chute?

Comment

I would install both even I believe that you can install the port later from outside (I am not sure).
        Bert

Comment