X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is My TS3660 As Safe As It Can Be?

I have a very healthy respect for my TS3660 tablesaw and want to be absolutely as safe as possible. I am brand new to woodworking and only want to develop good habits. I would appreciate any comments or suggestions regarding my safety adjustments.

1) Leveled table saw extension tables using a 38" long aluminum straight edge. Shimmed one table to make level.

2) Arbor runout (on face and lateral) less than .001".

2) Using TS-Aligner Jr. Lite, less than .001" variance on blade to miter slot alignment.

3) Using TS-Aligner Jr. Lite, fence pulls away from blade toward rear by about .001".

4) Splitter aligned with saw blade. Have noticed no binding or burning of wood.

5) Using Micro-Jig GRR-Ripper for holding wood and ripping. Seems to make it easy to hold against fence, exert downward pressure, and push forward.

6) Switch moved to left side, so do not have to lean across back of saw to reach.

7) Lee Valley zero clearance insert installed.

8) Considering Micro-Jig splitters. See www.micro-jig.com. Will use more ZCIs for different cut depths with splitter positioned close to rear of blade.

9) All adjustments from Ridgid instructions performed.

Some areas of concern. The blade appears to have about .005" lateral runout. Fence is not completely flat when TS-Aligner is in right miter slot. .002" - .003" variance down the face.

Some people have the fence pull away from the blade to the rear. Would that not tend to pull the left rear cut off piece into the rear of the blade? This assume the fence is to the right of the blade.

I stand to the left of the blade, but if the wood is picked up and pulled over the top of the blade on a kickback, seems like I am in the impact zone.

Thanks.

- Phil

Re: Is My TS3660 As Safe As It Can Be?