Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse

How To Post Images

Want to know the how to upload images to your posts? Image Posting Tutorial
See more
See less

What are all the Machinery or tools needed for Modular Kitchen Manufacture ??

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are all the Machinery or tools needed for Modular Kitchen Manufacture ??

Hello everyone,

I am a Interior Designer, i would like to start my own Modular Kitchen manufacturing company in a small scale production. You can assume that 10 Kitchens per month. As a starter, i would like to concentrate more on minimal design style using the finishes such as Laminate, Lacquer, Veneer etc. Mostly into Laminate we can assume. I am planning to use water and boil proof plywoods of 18mm thickness.

As a starter, what are all the basic tools or machines that is needed for this ?.., my worry is about the edge band. I am confused with what kind of Edge band would be nice, and what sort of machines or tools needed for Edge banding.

Hope few might advice me regarding this, as the discussion grow, i will share more of my ideas in a clear way.

Re: What are all the Machinery or tools needed for Modular Kitchen Manufacture ??

For edge banding, you can use strips of the top laminate, cut a little wide, and applied with a hand roller. Contact cement will work if the edge is not exposed to hot water or steam. If it is, a plastic-resin glue would work better and be more lasting. Trim with a small electric trim router (the Bosch Colt is one brand/model, but would have to be bought to match your voltage/hertz of electricity. Probably best procured from the European market unless you are running 110/120v at 60 hertz). They make router bits designed to give a clean edge to the banding.

If you use wood veneer, the edge of the glued strip can be trimmed with sharp hand tools, such as a sharp knife or bevel plane.