X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 220V with the TS2424

I am no electrician so I need some help! What are the advantages to running the TS2424 on a 220 circuit? I see in the manual that the motor can be converted to run on 220, but it makes no mention of what you accomplish by doing this. Any help would be appreciated.
    Brad Hatchett<br />brad@hatchettfamily.net

Well, I AM an electrician (among other things...) [img]smile.gif[/img]

Running the motor on 220v will reduce the current (amperage) required to run the motor. This results in more efficient operation, with less heating of both wiring and motor. As a result, the motor will last longer, particularly if you're working it hard. If you're doing new wiring to an outlet, smaller gauge wire can be used. Usually, I stick with a larger gauge anyway, which combined with the lower current requirement makes for less voltage drop (wasted energy) across the wiring, and more delivered to the motor itself.

What you WON'T get is more power out of the motor. What you WILL see is faster motor spinup, cooler operation, and longer life.

If you have a choice, go for 220.

D.

Comment

Brad. If you'll check page 8 of your owner's manual it shows you how to wire the motor for 220VAC. If will walk you through all the steps you need to do. If you dont have your manual you can print a copy or just the pages you need at Ridgids home page. I hope this helps.
      Regards Dan
      Dan<br /> <a href=\"http://community.webshots.com/user/pepaw101\" target=\"_blank\">http://community.webshots.com/user/pepaw101</a>

Comment

Here is a link to the page with the owner's manuals for your saw.

http://www.ridgidparts.com/wood/stationary/TS2424.phtml

Josh

Comment

Dan,

Thanks for the info. I am planning to drop a couple of 220V outlets in my shop and will definitely dedicate one for the table saw! Appreciate your response.

brad

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Dan Case: