Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Opinions on 3650 stock miter gauge, and miter gauges in general. Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on 3650 stock miter gauge, and miter gauges in general.

3650 owners, are you happy with the stock miter gauge or did you upgrade?

I'm a TS newbie, so bear with me here -- how does a better miter gauge affect TS use? Is it relevant if you're making mostly crosscuts, or only if you're doing a lot of molding etc?

My bargain-basement 2424 also is missing the miter gauge, and I'm trying to decide whether or not to replace it with the standard stock (about $40), a cheapish aftermarket (Incra V57, about $60) or a fancy schmancy aftermarket in the $1-200 range. What does the extra money buy you?

Thanks very much for any advice or opinions.

-DustyCat

Dusty
    I got an Incra 1000SE to replace the stock miter gauge on my 2424. Basically it is more accurate on angled cuts, easier to adjust, has a flip stop that allows you to make consistent length cuts, etc. In my opinion worth the money. You might want to check it out.

http://www.woodpeck.com/miter1000se.html

[ 12-03-2003, 09:11 AM: Message edited by: DaveM ]

Comment

Hi Dusty-
      In my opinion, you would be better off saving the $40 they would charge you for the 3650 miter gauge and upgrading to a better one.

I've had my 3650 for about a month (so I'm not an expert by any means) and have found that the 3650 miter gauge is fine for making 45 and 90 degree cuts, but if you plan on making cuts somewhere in between those two that need somewhat high levels of precision, I think it would be worth it to look into an upgrade.

Hope this helps.

Comment

The 3650 miter is for t-slot and might not fit the 2424.

Comment

So I guess I should really be asking about the stock miter for the 2424...