Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I Have a Screw Loose (on a latch, OK!?) - Recommendations?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Have a Screw Loose (on a latch, OK!?) - Recommendations?

Several months back I had a new fence and gate put up. For the last few weeks I've noticed the gate hasn't been closing as solidly as it did at the beginning. Lo and behold I see that one of the two screws attaching the bar latch was loose (see the photo I just took below of the screw on the left). I tightened/cinched it down pretty good with a screwdriver but within a day it was loose again. The wood is a medium-grade redwood.

If this is the way to go, can anybody recommend a compound, glue or filler I can put into the hole to cement the screw firmly in place? I am just a layman and don't do woodworking so if somebody knows the exact or specific brand and name of a product easily obtained at most hardware stores, that would be most helpful.

Thank you kindly!

Re: I Have a Screw Loose (on a latch, OK!?) - Recommendations?

Originally posted by MikeVB View Post
    Several months back I had a new fence and gate put up. For the last few weeks I've noticed the gate hasn't been closing as solidly as it did at the beginning. Lo and behold I see that one of the two screws attaching the bar latch was loose (see the photo I just took below of the screw on the left). I tightened/cinched it down pretty good with a screwdriver but within a day it was loose again. The wood is a medium-grade redwood.

If this is the way to go, can anybody recommend a compound, glue or filler I can put into the hole to cement the screw firmly in place? I am just a layman and don't do woodworking so if somebody knows the exact or specific brand and name of a product easily obtained at most hardware stores, that would be most helpful.

Thank you kindly!
    Take out the screw, and squirt some super glue gel in, then screw the screw back in.