Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best use of money - Jointer or other shop accessories?

Hey folks... I am very new to wood working with the exception of my framing houses. I am trying to build up a small modest shop for some hobby work. To say that I will even be a weekend warrior most likely is a stretch. I have about $500.00 to spend. $100.00 of the $500.00 is a gift cirtificate to the local mall which has sears.
    I have been planning on buying the Ridgid jointer that you can purchase at home depot for $400.00. However I am now second guessing that and wondering if the money could be better spent. Here are the major tools I have.
    </font>
    • table saw</font>
    • router & router table / couple of bits</font>
    • compund miter saw</font>
    • drill press</font>
    • cordless drill</font>
    • jigsaw</font>
    • hand held orbiting sander</font>
    • a small drill bit set</font>
    • some clamps</font>
    As you can see I have some basics. I guess what I want to know, are there other items that I should get for my shop before getting a jointer? If I don't get it now, it will most likey have to wait a long while. But at teh same time, I don't want to buy it if I don't really need it.

What are the cost benifits in wood purchasing if I buy the jointer? I realize I need a planer to go with a jointer but for now I plan on making a router planer jig.

I was at woodcraft the other day I was told that all their wood is pre jointed so that you have a guaranteed 90 degree angle on two sides... That being the case, again I am forced to ask, do I really need a jointer?

What are the price differences between the type of wood that woodcraft carries vs. wood that has never been jointed or planed?

Thanks all for your input.
    Rick

[ 01-31-2004, 01:35 PM: Message edited by: m00n ]