X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3612 or 3650 table saw? Help, please.

I'm new to this forum and a total beginner in woodworking. I need some advice on recently purchased (still in box) tools. I bought a table saw from HD (model TS3612) for $469 on clearance. I recently saw the new model TS3650 table saw at HD and it looks great to me. I'm particularly interested in the dust collection feature that it has. So now I'm thinking of returning my 3612 and getting the 3650 instead for $597. My hesitation in doing this is that I don't know if the dust collection feature works effectively. There is no available advice on this except from this group. My second concern is that I don't know anything about One World Technologies, who would be handling the warranty for the 3650. The 3612 is handled by Ridgid.

I'm looking for advice from this group as to whether I should return the 3612 for the 3650 to get the dust collection system. I'm also looking for advice on Ridgid vs. OWT warranty service.

I've noticed that the 3650 is made in Taiwan and the 3612 that I have is "built in USA". What does "built in USA" mean? I see that some components are made elsewhere. For example the fence is made in Taiwan, the motor is made by Emerson in the USA. Do you have any information on where other components are made? I'm just curious. It's not a big issue for me.

Looking forward to your opinions, so bring them on.

Thanks.

Nuggy,

I will try and keep this short -