9" Bench Band Saw

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 9" Bench Band Saw

Looking to get a 9" Bench Band Saw, or something similar. What would you all recommend? I am new to woodworking, but loving it...

Re: 9" Bench Band Saw

I've got a 10" Craftsman model #21400 as my secondary bandsaw. I bought this barely used for about $125, IIRC. I've had it for about 1.5 years, and it gets a lot more use than my heavily-upgraded Ridgid BS with riser block, which I keep in the garage and mostly reserve for resawing nowadays.

I use the 10" for cutting turning blanks, making templates and cutting out templated parts (usually 3/4" material). It handle's 1.5" thick cedar with no issues. Dust collection on it is reasonable. By itself it is not a noisy machine, but once you start cutting you get the screech, as with most machines.

Just a caveat though: don't expect to be able to cruise through resawing 4" hardwood with this bandsaw, unless you have infinite patience. It ploughs through cedar, pine, and other 3/4" material just fine. I have cross-cut 2" hard maple and it took some patience.

The Craftsman is about $199 now, though I'm sure some searching might reveal some coupon codes or discounts.
    http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...ears_productpg

FYI, this is basically identical to the Rikon 10", sold via Woodcraft for $279:
    http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/208...el-10-305.aspx

The main point here is that Woodcraft sells a base stand for the Rikon which fits the Craftsman. They sold it as cheap as $39.99 in the past 6 months.

Whichever way you go, plan to buy a high quality blade and throw away the stock blade. You can get 70 1/2" Olson All Pro blades for these bandsaws via this site for about $19:
    http://www.allbandsawblades.com/allPro_Blades.htm
    I include this link because not many other retailers carry quality blades in this size. I use the 3/8" 4-skip tooth.

Comment