No announcement yet.

A little advice

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A little advice

I just took the plunge and bought the Ridgid Bandsaw last week at HD. I thought about this long and hard. I made my decision based on the review in Wood. I was very impressed with the quality and ease of set up.

I am getting ready to buy a planer and Jointer. I am a new weekend woodworker and would really like to buy the Ridgid models, but after reading some of the posts here about support and limited availability of the product (only through HD), I'm a little concerned. I don't want to get stuck with products I can't get parts for or that will breakdown quickly. I have to say that after reading other forums on Delta, they also have many complaints about quality.

So, I would be interested in hearing what others think about Ridgid. Are they going to be around for awhile?

Cody, I am also weekender. With the exception of constructing my garage/workshop/"doghouse", My tools will probably not be pushed to their limits. Based on what I've learned first hand about my Ridgid machines, I don't think I'll ever be able to "ware-out" any of the stationary machines. Contrarilly, I have had bad luck with a Delta CMS(which I returned), and a DeWalt Recip. Saw(which I had repaired twice under warranty). Porter Cable tools have given me very good service.

You gotta figure, what a small percentage of complaints there are as compared to the thousands of tools actually in use. Ridgid offers a good value for the price.

But, what do I know? I'm only a weekend woodworker.
    keep makn\' sawdust!...just don\'t breath any.