X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Staining wood filler

Hi Everyone, I'm a beginner-woodworker with a problem with staining wood filler. Everywhere I've applied the wood filler I get a dark outline of stain. I'm guessing the filler shrank away from the edge of the wood, allowing stain to build up giving it the dark outline appearance. If it wasn't for this build-up, I would have a perfect match of stained wood and stained filler. Anyone experience this???.....Is there technique to stop this, or should I quit using filler and instead use matching wood putty after everything is stained and varnished???....Thanks in advance for any help...
    Thanks,<br />Erwin<br />\"It\'s all in the grain.....\"

Edwin---think you nailed the reason for the dark edges---stain is sitting at any indent, below the surface wipped with a rag.

First thing is to minimize the amount of filler you need. Whenever possible, hide nail heads on interrior of project or just used glue, etc.

If you want to use a filler, before staining, you will need to do use two applications or overfill and later sand smooth. However, few stains take stain the same as wood----I tried the Minwax Stainable filler and it was better than average, but still wasn't invisible. In this regard, sometimes it's better to stain first, then get as close a match, either with pre-mixed or stain/filler you mix yourself.

Colored putty or wax sticks are good for small spots and you can get pretty close matches.

Again---the trick is not to need a filler---BTW, for any large gouges or oppses' sometimes you might be better with a dutchman patch than trying to fill the hole.
    Dave

Comment