X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Poor Rip cuts on new R4510

I just purchased the R4510 and am having trouble getting a decent rip cut. I installed a new freud 40 tooth combination blade with no improvement. I also fiddled around with the throat plate height and that didn't help either. It's kind of similar to the poor crosscut post. I am not a professional-just a hobbiest.
    Any advice?
    Thanks
    Sarah

Re: Poor Rip cuts on new R4510

Can you be a little more specific about the cut quality? What is happening that you are not happy with?
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

Lots of blade marks. I just want to get a smooth, flat edge.

Comment

There are a couple of things that I would look at first. First, double check that both the saws fence and blade are parallel to each other. If either one of those are off you could get some binding which could cause burning and saw marks. If the blade and fence are both true then look at your feed technique. Any sideways movement at all of your stock when feeding it thru the blade could cause blade marks as well as other bad things.

For your ripping needs, you might want to consider getting a dedicated rip blade. General purpose and combo blades are nice and usually work very well but it's hard to beat the results you'll receive when using dedicated rip or crosscut blades.
        Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

As Dave said, check to make sure your fence and blade are parallel. In addition you might want to check that you don't have significant arbor runout (which would make the blade wobble, which can also cause your cuts to show tooth marks)

Comment

check out this wood magazine video regarding what should be checked to ensure safe and accurate saw opration:

http://www.woodmagazine.com/wood/fil...video&temp=yes