X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Garage or Basement?

As my chosen name indicates, I am a weekend woodworker! 2004 is my rookie year
    only stationary tool I have is a table saw. Very soon likely to purchase a router/table. I have a 2 car garage that is being used for storing lawn equipment/summer activity items like bikes etc. plus there is demand from my wife to yield some space to her gardening pottery table (that she wants me to build). We live in upstate NY - pretty cold between Nov and April - woodworking during these months in the garage is out of the question.

The question to all of you is - what are pros and cons of having a woodworking shop in garage vs basement (that is not a walkout).

Thanks

Welcome Weekender;

Personally I have my shop in the garage, but as you noted, it is not for everyone.

Pros in the basement......

Warmer in the cold months
    cooler in summer
    Generally readily accessible
    Easy to get to power,water etc
    you can work in your skivvys, if you've a mind to

Cons in the basement......
    Dust in house
    noise in house
    smell from finishing in house
    possible whinin from loyl
    possible humidity problems in warmer months
    if it's not a walkout.....gettin tools in or out.
    getting finished product upstairs into house, if they are large, like a bookcase or a hutch.

Pros for Garage......

easy to get lumber, tools etc in and out
    generally isolated as far as noise and dust goes
    in most cases more open space, without posts or supports in the way
    In the warmer months, it is nice to work with the doors open, depending on humidity
    Easier to get finished products out
    easier to clean up after projects...

Cons for the garage.........

Gotta insulate,heat, run power,phone etc (expense)
    Humidity in the summer months
    Wall space becomes very valuble.....garage door(s) take up one wall
    park tools in garage, or vehicles???? some do both