Band Saw Recommendations

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Band Saw Recommendations

Looking to buy either a 9" or 10" Band Saw. I am a novice so I do not need to break the bank nor anything too heavy duty, just decent quality. What brands should I be looking at?

Re: Band Saw Recommendations

I have a 9-inch Ryobi BS902 that I have been very pleased with. It's only aluminum frame and plastic cover, but does have a heavy cast iron base for stability. The newer BS903 features roller bearing guides, upper and lower wheel brushes, wheel tracking adjustment knob, blade tension quick release and a table extension bar. It includes a miter gauge and a work light. http://ryobitools.com/catalog/power_...all_saws/BS903

Mine is vibration free and has ample power for most needs. It's priced right around $100 at Home Depot and comes with a 30-day Satisfaction Guarantee and a two-year warranty.

Sears has a small Craftsman with a welded iron frame and cast iron table (IIRC). It looks like a very solid unit, but it is priced a bit higher at $129, with a 1-year warranty. However, the website reviews don't give it high marks.
    http://www.craftsman.com/shc/s/p_101...4&blockType=L4

Craftsman also has a similarly designed 10" bandsaw, but it is priced up around $179.

When such questions have been asked in the past, most replies have been to save your money for a "real" bandsaw... no less than a 14-inch. Up in that size there's quite a few choices and most are up in the $400 and above range.