Doing Dadoes - Router or Table Saw?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Doing Dadoes - Router or Table Saw?

I have usually done my dadoes using my router.

The advantage to using the router is that you have a specific bity for the size dado you need -- just install a 3/4" bit or a 23/32" bit for plywood, and the cut is always on target. I have a jig (actually just a piece of melamine cut for each size bit with a straight-edge screwed onto it). The drawback to using the router for dadoes is you have to do three passes for each dado. If you're building a large bookshelf, three passes is quite a chore!

Well, I am about to buy a TS3612, and I'm thinking I'll start doing dadoes on the table saw. But I have no experience with a table saw dado blade. So, here are my questions:
    1. Is it difficult to set a dado blade to be exactly 3/4" or 23/32"?
    2. What dado blades do you recommend?
    3. Are there any safety considerations pertaining to dado blades I should be aware of?

Or maybe I should keep using the router for dadoes?

Thanks everyone!

You'll find the need to do some dado's on the router table still. One's that intersect to a "T", or are offset are better done on a router table or using a guide. Straight through end to ends are fast and easy on the table saw with a dado stack. But if you are like me and sometimes can't afford the best material, warpped panels are hard to get a consistant depth with a dado stack. Best to use the guide and router.

A good dado stack (stay away from wobblers!) comes with shims to get you dialed in to just about any width you want. I'd also recommend staying away from the 6" diameter ones. Get a quality name 8", plan on about 100 bucks. Sounds like alot, but you can dial in from 1/4" to 13/16" in about .005" using the shims. How much would that many router bits cost?

There is always alternatives to doing the same task. It's a mater of which is the safest in my opinion. Followed 2nd by productivity.