X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Edge Joining Instructions

I am a relatively new woodworker. One thing I am unsure about is proper technique for edge joining boards. I know that you have to start with good, straight edges and all. But what all is involved beyond that?

And when my joint is complete, how much error is acceptable in the surface alignment of the boards? Obviously you will always have to do some cleanup after the joint has properly dried in order to make them perfect, but how close is good?

And so on and so forth. I know there are some pretty brilliant woodworkers around here and was hoping to get some good input.

Thanks,
    Paul Thompson

Make sure you use a reliable square to set the fence. If your glueing boards together to make one wide one, you'll end up with a wave or a cup if it's not set dead nutz 90 degrees. A properly set up jointer will yeild the best glue edges of anything (with decently sharp blades). If your doing something like a miter lock joint on a router table, run the edges down a jointer first and you can't go wrong.

When resawing, especially like I do from chain sawn chuncks, the jointer is the best way to flaten one wide side (providing the jointer is wide enough) and one narrow side. Be sure to do the wide side first, and hold it tight to the fence when doing the narrow side. Then move to the table saw, rip the consistant width taking off the un jointed side with wide jointed side to the TS table, then move to the thickness planer, and set the thickness. Your ready to cut lengths, and machine joints.
    John E. Adams<br /><a href=\"http://www.woodys-workshop.com\" target=\"_blank\">www.woodys-workshop.com</a>

Comment