Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• r4510 table top coat wears after 2 weaks - is it normal?

Hi,

I'm quite new to woodworking. Bought r4510 about two weeks ago. At first top coat pealed a little at place were miter enters the table. After using a sliding table there are places where coat got completely worn out. Is this normal? should i be concerned about it? (I waxed table top using Minwax paste)

Thank you.

Re: r4510 table top coat wears after 2 weaks - is it normal?

Ok, on my way back home went to Lowes to check other brands on the floor.
    On dewalt paint peels of the top near miter slot same as on ridgid, i think after sliding wood on top of it it will ware same as on ridgid. It seems like this is common. Am i right?

Thank You

Comment

Vasyl,

Welcome to the Ridgid forum!

I'm not sure of what these saws are using for a "coating", as you say. But, my guess would be that any coating or painting, including a "powder coat" would show wear if there is a lot of abrasive movement across it's surface. Generally speaking, powder-coated finishes are more durable and less susceptable to abrasion and wear.

I guess the trick would be to keep a good coating of wax on it, in an attempt to minimize the friction and possible abrasion of the coated finish.

I have two Ryobi saws that have a "coated" finish of some kind. My BT3100 has a silver powder-like finish on it's ribbed table top. After five years of use, it is showing absolutely no wear at all. I've ripped quite a number of 8-ft pine and oak boards on this saw.

My Ryobi BTS21, (portable, with a folding carriage) has a platinum-color coating on a solid top (no ribs). I've only had it a year and it has received fairly light duty (cutting plywood sheets and some pine) and it is showing some light marks.