No announcement yet.

R29301 router plunging challenges

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R29301 router plunging challenges

Hi all,

I just picked up a 29301 combo pack the other day to use in guitar building. The fit and finish are very nice, and the height adjustments on both the fixed base and plunge base are easy to use. I should say I'm a novice woodworker and router user, so some of my issues are surely related to that. But I'm having some trouble getting the plunge depths I need to rout cavities in guitar bodies and figured I'd ask the pros.

The basic issue is that with the bits I'm using, which all have quarter inch shanks, aren't able to reach deep enough to do the work -- on two of them, the cutting length is only about 1/2" with bearings on top for following templates. With the plunge base and the bit shank all the way into the collet, the end of the bit barely protrudes from the sub base even at the lowest plunge depths, much less exposing the bearing so it can ride along the template. Even without the vacuum attachment (which the collet cannot clear) I can barely get my other, longer bits to reach deep enough for some of the cavities I need to make. For example, on a current project I need to make a 1 5/8" deep cavity, and I can barely get that deep with the bit shank only about halfway into the collet and the vacuum attachment removed (I can always enlarge the vac attachment opening, although it doesn't seem like I should have to -- design flaw?) It could be that I am using the wrong bits, but some of these are specialty bits I really need to be able to use.