X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R29302 Router Insert Plate

My wife purchased the R29302 router combo kit for me for christmas. This is my first router, so i'm a complete newbie. I'm looking to get a router table for it. I think I'd prefer to build one, since it would be a great learning experience for me.

I'm somewhat limited in space, so I was thinking about making a "breakaway" one that mounts on the side of my work bench, and then breaks away or folds up when not in use. I haven't worked out the logistics on this yet.

Whether I do this or not, I still want to build a router table. I was thinking about using 2 3/4" mdf sheets for the table top. I'm not sure what to do for the router plate insert, however. I'm assuming I should buy a metal insert, but i dont' know where to start.

Can someone point me in a direction for getting a plate insert that is compatible with my router? If I'm way off base, can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

Re: R29302 Router Insert Plate

Do you have a tablesaw? Have you considered replacing one of the wings or adding an extra wing as the router table? There are a few threads here with that solution.

Comment

I do have an R4511.

I wasn't sure of the cost involved to extend the arms and put a router insert into it. I'm fairly new to all things handy, so modifying a tool that already works seems a little scary.

Comment

I use a Rockler table top and plate with my Ridgid router, but you can buy a plate from several sources and make your own table if you wish. Basically, any Porter-Cable 690-compatible plate should fit the R2930 router. http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=21299

I'm not a big fan of MDF. While it has great density, I think that normal 3/4-inch will sag from the weight of a router hanging on it. Perhaps double thickess or other means of reinforcement would be necessary.

The Rockler table top is about an 1-1/8 inch thick and so far has held up well.