X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• discontinued?

Hi all, I am new to woodworking and am looking to buy a table saw. Ive been at HD lookin at the Ridgid saws. While on the net I read that Ridgid wasnt going to continue making woodworking tools. Is this true or not??? help clarify this.
    Thanx!

The Ridgid name is no longer being made by Emerson. Manufacturing has switched to the parent company of Ryobi.

Comment

"Parent company of Ryobi"??????

Thats a new one. Is this correct?
      keep makn\' sawdust!...just don\'t breath any.

Comment

Yes, Greg---OWT owns Ryobi, Ridgid wwing tools, Metabo (sp?) Homelite, etc.
        Dave

Comment

Ah Dave,..... can you provide some documentation that OWT owns "Ridgid wwing tools, Metabo (sp?)"? Thanks.

Greg, actually TTI is the parent company of Ryobi. If my memory is serving me correctly, Ryobi is a subsiduary of OWT which in turn is a subsiduary of TTI. But then again, I could be wrong.
          Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

That's strange.

"Emerson Professional ToolsTM manufactures our own globally respected brands, such as RIDGID®"

I know that I am new here, but Ridgid's main site has the emerson logo and if you follow it to Emerson's site they claim to still make Ridgid products.

Comment

Emmerson still owns the rights to the Ridgid label is my understanding and they are still making the Hand Tools. The free standing power tools such as table saws and the like is what they are no longer building. But they are apparently creating the specs, and design, while Ryobi handles the building, quality control, marketing, and customer support.

I get lost in all this stuff sometimes though
              LOL
              Jake

Comment

I'm so confused! Sounds like something from Dilbert.
                Dave

Comment

To clarify?