Making Large Solid Panels

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making Large Solid Panels

I am relatively new at woodworking. You folks are not! Can anyone answer this?

I would like to make a solid hardwood computer desk. I don't plan on using any MDF or plywood at all! Not even for drawers. Solid hardwood only.
    Time is no consideration for me, I have a desk right now to use, and no other projects are pending.

I would like to make all large panels solid. (i.e. the sides, top, etc...) but I'm afraid from articles that I've read that these large panels will eventually crack if they cannot expand and contract. I understand that the desk top should be "Floated" with tabletop mounting clamps, but what about the sides and back?
    Does anyone know how to do this properly?

I've read that the reason for raised panels with rails and stiles is exactly for this reason. And MDF and Plywood were also invented for this reason. But darnit, I like solid harwood!

Thanks for any advice.

I've read that these large panels will eventually crack if they cannot expand and contract

You have read correctly. I'm sitting about 20 feet from a small antique Walnut bookcase with both sides cracked due to improper construction.

I could probably describe in words only how to do this, but it would require at least knowing what style of construction you intend to use. Alternatively, I could suggest "Illustrated Cabinetmaking" as an excellent book that shows multiple pieces and their proper construction. Perhaps your local library even has or can borrow a copy.

Dave

Comment

I'll second the emphasis on building with solid wood the correct way.

Here's the full title of the book that Dave Arbuckle mentioned:
      "Rodale's Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works"