Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello--new member

Hello,

I just aquired an R4512 this weekend and have it up and running. I have a few questions that hopefully can be answered, but first, I suppose a little about me is fair. I'm a casual woodworker who's trying to better his skills. I grew up around tools, but never really had time to get into them. Now, I find myself living in a very cold climate and have begun to build a basement workshop, which is now centered around the R4512. So far, the saw has been great--I graduated from a Ryobi BT3100 that had seen better days to be polite).

Regarding the saw, I do have a couple of questions.

1. In the assembly instructions, it states that the blade washer should be positioned "dome side" facing the blade with an illustration that shows the blade washer like thes -( That is meant to show the arbor and the blade washer. However, later in manual, it shows the blade washer installed like this -), then the arbor nut. Please forgive the crude images. Which way is correct?

2. Table extention between the rails. Has anyone done this and if so, how do you like it? Are the rails strong enough to support a router table in said wing? I would imagine the table with router would weigh 25-30lbs or so. I don't want to stress the rails.

3. The split rail. I tried to align the front rails as best as I could, but I still have a little bump at the joint. Probably no more than a 64th of an inch, but the fense "bumps" as it glides across. Kind of annoying. Thoughts?