X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Band saw savvy? Need help.

Hey fellas, how are you? I'm new on here and I'm a new woodworker (kinda) and I'm trying to establish quality tools. I have aquired a Rigdig 4511 T/S, A rigdig 12" cms, a jointer/ planer, also from rigid, and am now looking for a band saw. That being said, the ridgid one looks cheap and underpowered... What do I need to do? Budget isn't the biggest issue here, but I don't want to spend a fortune either. I do enjoy reading the posts on here and appreciate your answers.

Thanks a lot.

Re: Band saw savvy? Need help.

Woodlum,

Welcome to the Ridgid forum!

This is a great place with many honest, good-natured members who are quite willing to share their experience and expertise. I hope you enjoy the forum as much as I have.

Regarding the Ridgid bandsaw, it seems to have a mix of opinions, most of which I think are negative. But there are others that feel that it's a good bandsaw, once you get everything tweaked and spend some time working out all the kinks.

Personally, I think there are better bandsaws for the money and my feelings are that you shouldn't have to buy a new tool and then do a lot of work on it to get it to run properly. That alone would direct me elsewhere, but that's more my opinion and I'm sure others may differ.

I presently only own a 9-inch bandsaw, the Ryobi BS902 which I'm happy with and it's a great little bandsaw for the money ($99) and a good thing to learn on. But that said, I think one should probably go with what best fits their budget and their work/project plans.

14-inch bandsaws appear to be the most popular and certainly they come at the best price/performance I think. Top units seem to be the traditional cast iron design Grizzly G0555 which sells for about $450, plus shipping (see all the Grizzly models at http://www.grizzly.com/products/cate...spx?key=420000