No announcement yet.

finishing walnut

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• finishing walnut

Hi all, and thanks in advance for any advise.

I am slowly, piece by piece, buidling my 2 yr old a bed room set. Because of the small closet in her room, I am starting off with an amoir. The piece is about 75% done, and am now wondering how to finish it. I took some of the scrap, peruvian walnut, and trying different applications. I tried 3 coats of tung oil, and 3 coats of poly, but seems a little dark.

I also tried just 3 coats of poly and that seems to be what I am looking for. I forgot to mention that the poly is a semi gloss. I have never used gloss before. If I put gloss over the tung oil, will that make the wood appear a bit lighter? What about a clear shellac.

I really like the look of the peruvian walnut but didn't realize that finishing it would darken it that much more. Is there an oil out there that won't darken it much?

The general consensus when applying multiple coats of poly is to apply gloss to all but the last coat then switch to the semi-gloss or satin on the last coat, thus preventing clouding of the finish. I’ll shoot you an email that a fellow forum member forwarded me from David Marks on his finishing technique using General Finishes Sealaceel (tung oil/urethane combination) and Arm-R-Seal. I recently followed his directions on a walnut blanket chest and achieved very satisfying results.

Good luck