No announcement yet.

Will I need both?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will I need both?

Hi everyone

I am new to woodworking and am in the process of purchasing equipment (lots of fun). I have been looking at radial arm saws and 12" sliding compound miter saws. If I buy the radial arm saw, would it just be redundant to also get the 12" slider?

I would say the radio arm saw is the best tool for the job.
    Andy B.

I think for someone just starting out in wood working You should purchase a Sliding compound miter saw. Why? Because they are easier to adjust for miter cuts & can be returned to the commonly used miter cuts easier then a Radial Arm Saw. I have a 12" Radial Arm Saw & a 12" Miter Saw Only because My Dad gave me his 12" Radial Arm Saw & I have used it for several years. But now that I have a 12" Compound Miter Saw I don't use the Radial Arm Saw as much because the Compound Miter Saw is easier to use. If I had never received the Radial Arm Saw I would have purchased a 12" Sliding Compound Miter Saw. Another thing is that the Sliding Compound Miter Saw is smaller & lighter than Radial Arm Saw so it will be easier to move around & will not take up as much floor space in your shop. Remember with a Radial Arm Saw you pull the saw through the material while using a Sliding Compound Miter Saw you pull it out & push the saw down & back through the material toward the fence. The reason I purchased a Compound Miter Saw instead of a Sliding Compound Miter Saw is because I do Have the Radial Arm Saw for wide cross cuts. The 12" Compound Miter Saw serves me just fine for most all Cross cutting that I do. If I need to cut wider material I'll use the Radial Arm Saw.
      Darn I\'ve stretched this board 3 times & it\'s still to short.

I agree with Bart. For standard cross cuts and miters, and compound miters, it's easier to do on a miter saw.