Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New addition to my shop

Hey fellas,
    I finished probably the most important addition to my shop. I build a mobile work bench to do all my assembling on. I have been useing saw hoeses and 2x4's or plywood if I had it laying around, man I'm really proud of it, it turned out fantastic I used 1/4" tempered hard board on the top and edged it with 3/4" oak. My question is should I finish it with somekind of protectant(poly or other) or not worry about it.

Thanks, Jason

I throw a quick coat of poly onto most of the shop stuff like that I build. If for no better reason than it makes it a bit easier to clean up spills.

Comment

I was just worried that the poly would not stick to the tempered hard board???? To slick

Comment

I can honestly say that I've never tried to poly coat hardboard before so I'm just guessing here. Maybe, if you lightly sanded it with say a 220 or higher grit paper the poly would adhere better to the surface.
        Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

I would try waxing so you could clean glue off.
          Steve

Comment

As long as the wax has no silicone in it right???

Comment

I would try polymerized tung oil. To me it seems to harden the surface and spills and things usually wipe right off. It is a easy to apply and a snap to renew with another coat.
              I use Tung Oil on nearly everything I do. And from watching Dave Marks I see he does to.
              Rev Ed

Comment

Tung oil, good stuff, I use it for many projects too. Either tung oil or poly but I would leave the hardboard bare. This is a sacrificial piece right, you made it so you could easily replace when need be, why worry about protecting it?