Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Repeat Rip Cutting

Question....

I have a Ridgid TS3650 and this is probably going to sound like a complete noob question. So... I am making a night stand and I want to make sure that the legs are all the same size.

My solution was to put the fence the distance away and have the "kept" piece be the one between the fence and the blade. Is this bad? or the only way to do it?

It just seemed... dangerous. Or... I could have an overdeveloped respect for wanting to not have a ton of bloodshed when the saw is turned on.

Is there a better way to pull this off?

There is some risk in doing this as you note. If the legs are square and not tapered, clamp them together and cut them all at once (I'm assuming you are using the miter gage). This will also help eliminate tearout on three of the legs or all 4 if you add a piece of scrap behind the stack.

[ 03-14-2005, 10:15 PM: Message edited by: ByteButcher ]

Comment

I am doing the rip cut for the width of the leg and not the crosscut for the length.

I have the crosscutting worked out... Currently the legs are all a little longer than I need them and I do plan on putting them all together and getting them to length at the same time.

I got them all to the width I needed... It just seemed unsafe.

Although I was reading a website with some of Uncle Norm's Advice... And someone needs to correct me if I am wrong here:

So if I have the fence to the right of the blade and I am rip cutting something that I want to be say 4" in width. The 4" piece that I want to keep is the piece that is between the saw blade and the fence. NOT the piece to the left of the blade.