Help with a Butcher Block cutting board

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with a Butcher Block cutting board

So I bought a butcher block cutting board a few years ago. It's round, about 20 inches in diameter and about 2 inches thick. Now I don't use it all the time but I do use it. A month ago, I went to use it and it was looking pretty dry so after I was done, I put mineral oil on it and let it soak in. Well I took it down two nights ago and it's got a massive split in it, right along one of the seems. Not being a word working expert I've got a few questions. One, what can I do to fix it? Two, why would this happen? I'm assuming it got too dry and my lack of diligence with re-oiling it lead to the splitting.

Re: Help with a Butcher Block cutting board

Hey madjack, here's how the WoodWhisperer fixed one. How to Fix a Cracked Cutting Board | The Wood Whisperer

Comment

Hey, thanks for the link. I'm going to give mine some time to completely dry up and then give that a try.

Comment

Interesting link. I use West Systems epoxy and while it is pricey have had very good success with it.

One interesting thing I noticed about the woodwhisperer link is that a good portion of the crack seemed to occur right on the original glue line. Being an end grain cutting board, that seems odd. I would expect the wood to fail long before the adhesive. Looks to me like maybe the original joint may have been glue-starved. I know that there are differing opinions on whether glue starvation, and over-clamping are real effects. I am in the camp that believes that glue starvation is a real effect. With epoxies in general, you are looking for a 0.005 inch thick glue line for best strength. That's about the thickness of 2 sheets of plain white paper. Something to keep in mind.