X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• THE DEFINITIVE ARBOR REPLACEMENT PROCEDURE FOR TS3650

THE DEFINITIVE ARBOR REPLACEMENT PROCEDURE!!!!!

WARNING: I AM NOT A PRO, YOU TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY FOR WHAT HAPPENS TO YOUR SAW IF YOU ATTEMPT ANY OF THE FOLLOWING:

BEFORE YOU START DO THE FOLLOWING:
    1. unplug your saw
    2. remove the blade and blade guard on the underside of the table
    3. lower blade height to as low as it will go
    4. remove the belt (lift up the motor to make this easier)
    5. remove the belt guard attached to the motor (optional but I found that it was always in my way so I just took it off)
    6. crank your saw to a 45 degree bevel to gain access to the pulley-side of the arbor, all work is done at this setting

SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT BEFORE YOU DECIDE TO REPLACE THE ARBOR YOURSELF:
    Despite what you might think, replacing your arbor IS a difficult task and you ARE better off getting it done professionally. Now you may be thinking what I thought, "How the hell am I supposed to get my saw to a repair place?" Fear not, you only need to take out the arbor sub-assembly, a group of parts that weighs less than 10 pounds, fits in one hand, and is removed by slipping off ONE retaining ring, that’s it!

I read up on how to replace the arbor until I was blue in the face; NOWHERE did I read about taking out the arbor sub-assembly as a means toward making replacement a snap. All directions suggested you take out the arbor from the saw separately. This is a flawed tactic as it requires WAAAAAAAY more effort than simply taking out the entire sub-assembly.

Referring to the schematic drawing, the key to this entire procedure is little ‘ole part 45. PART 45 is the ONLY thing (besides friction) holding on the ENTIRE arbor sub-assembly. What I’m calling the arbor sub-assembly includes:
    (see link at bottom for drawings)
    1. The arbor shaft #54
    2. The keyway key #53