fastener storage

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fastener storage

I'm kind of new to woodworking and was wondering if anyone can give me some advice on how you store screws and nails? I have mine all sorted by size etc. and in old peanutbutter jars but they end-up on my workbench and in the way because they take up so much room. I would like to build something but not sure what. Maybe someone has an idea or plan that I could use. Thanks in advance for your help.

depending on the size and location of your shop, you could screw the lids to the ceiling (joists) in your garage and that way they are the fastners are out of the way yet accessable. you can take it so far as to cut a piece of 3/4 inch plywood and cut it in a circle. mount that to some hardware that allows it to spin and mount it to the ceiling as well...screwing the tops of the jars to the wood.

i have a combination, i have some screwed to my rafters, and my more common fastners i have in a small cabinet i got from a relative that i mounted inmy garage.

you have several options here. if your workshop is "finished" you could take a 1x6 the lenght of the room, stain it to match your molding/trim and mount it to your ceiling. then screw the tops to the 1X6 then you have a place to mount your jars. i use gravy jars and baby food jars actually, a mayo jar, pickle jar etc gets mixed in but that matters not.

the trick is to find a way to screw the lids above your head someow and screw the jars in that way. not directly above your head but within reach. the other option is to merely store them in a cabinet or a box/rubbermaid bin. maybe a filing cabinet you might have?its all about accessibility.

good luck and please let me know what you decide...just curious
    \"A SHIP OF WAR IS THE BEST AMBASSADOR\"<br /><br />OLIVER CROMWELL

Comment