X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dado blade question.

Santa was good to me this year... He got me a fued 8" dado stack.....along with a kreg miter gauge with a precision flip stop.. and a few packs of bench cookies. Now the question I have is I have never used a dado blade before so I am wondering if there are any safety tips I should be aware of? I will be using it on my ts3650....which I am trying to use it to it's full potential.

Re: dado blade question.

There is really only one safety tip when it comes to saw blades and it applies to any kind of saw blade, keep your body parts away from it when its spinning.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

What BadgerDave said, plus I would suggest you make some zero clearance inserts for the widths you are going to dado. I have the exact same dado set with the 3650. I used 1/2 inch plywood, but you could use mdf, or hardwood.

Comment

Originally posted by Snailman View Post
        What BadgerDave said, plus I would suggest you make some zero clearance inserts for the widths you are going to dado. I have the exact same dado set with the 3650. I used 1/2 inch plywood, but you could use mdf, or hardwood.
        Snailman - I am finishing setting up an actual woodshop, as opposed to random tools in random places, and need to make some ZCI's. I am not at my saw right now, but wondering, do you have to do any routing or anything to make them from the 1/2" ply? Do you use set screws to shim them at all?

I have a lot of scrap of this around and it would be great if I can utilize it for this purpose.

I would greatly appreciate any input from you.

Thanks
        Jim

Comment

Using a sacrifical (wooden) fence will also help you cut safely, cleanly, and avoid damaing your fence.

Comment

Yes, there are some safety tips: