X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bands saw blade HELP!

I have a Ridgid BS1400. How is the Laguna recut blade. vers. Timberwolf are the other quality blades. I am new to a lot of this and looking to learn from others. Also what width blade would be best.
    I was planning on cutting some 1 1/2 X 10 inch rough cut curly poplar. This i was hoping to get 1/2" planed boards to glue and fabricate panels for shop cabinets.
    Thanks for any help Tommy

[ 02-05-2005, 06:02 PM: Message edited by: capttt ]

If you call Timberwolf CS and tell them what kind of saw you have and what you want to do, they will recommend the blade you need.
    Lorax
    "Did you put the yellow key in the switch?" TOD 01/09/06

Comment

1/2" 3tpi will be all you need. No band saw blades will ever give you a clean cut like a table saw therefore when people say "the more teeth the cleaner the cut" you can pretty much consider that bogus. Three teeth per inch (tpi) is perfect for re-sawing, cutting tenons, ripping and even cross cutting. Get yourself a few good steel blades 1/2" 3tpi and you are set for a long time.
      Are you Rapture ready? Know Jesus Christ or know his enemy!

Comment

Hey Capttt,

What kind of saw do you have? If you can spin a 3/4" to 1" blade, then feel free to invest $145 plus in one band saw blade! Please promise to let us know the quality of the results.

I know of one shop here intown that uses the Laguna Re-Saw blade, but they do one of a kind, museum quality work and often by entire logs rather than dimentioned lumber.

I could buy 10 Timber wolf blades for the price of one Laguna, but then again, my Ridgid Band saw wont turn the steel band.

Comment