X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Elementary Planer Question

I had a friend plane some 1x6s for me but he is as green as I am. When I ran into problems with rabbet joints not lining up, I discovered that the boards vary in thickness by up to 3/32. My question is this; if I had a planer, could I set it so the board would finish out to a specific depth? If so, what brand of planer seems to be the most accurate? I'm hoping my spouse surprises me on my birthday next week with the TP1300 I have been admiring for the last 3 months but maybe there is a more accurate planer out there.
    Your input is appreciated.

trenner,
    you can expect to plane boards to within, say, 3/1000's of an inch. When I get that close on my DeWalt 12" planer, I'm satisfied.

The key is starting out with a flat face(side), which you obtain by running across a jointer. Once you get one face flat, run it through the planer with the flat face down to get to the final thickness. Keep checking it with a micrometer. Also, once to side you are planning is even i.e. flat, alternate the faces as you run them through the planer. To avoid tear-out, make sure to plane "with the grain".

The TP1300 gets excellent reviews from everything I've seen on different forums, which are more reliable than magazine reviews.

rotsa ruck & bee safe

Rodney J in TX

Comment

I had a caftsman and the head bearnings went out in the middle of my ship lap siding project. No time to fix, so I got the TP1300..What a differance, like night and day. I only wish that I had known about the ridgid 5 years ago, would NOT trade for any other. the TP1300 is as far as I know a GREAT unit , lighter than others,ease of set up and much quieter than the crafstman. Blade changing is also easier. If my TP1300 "took a walk, I would get another ASAP ,,dd

Comment