X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how do you get laminite edges so tight

i am an office worker by trade, but half the time I spend my time staring at some of the nicer furniture and wondering how it was made.

What would the technique be for getting such a tight circular edge/border/transition betwen this laminated circle top and the hardwood edging? More or less create such perfect hardwood edging.

imgur: the simple image sharer

Re: how do you get laminite edges so tight

It's not that hard if you use a few tricks:

Make the solid edging a little thicker than the the laminated top. How much thicker depends on your skill level and how careful you are.

Make the the solid edge as a complete ring before mating it to the circular top. Trick number one is, always use an even number of sections. Then put half (180 degrees) of the ring together, mount to a piece of ply (toe clamp or DeStaCo clamps if you have some), and trim the faces on the tablesaw where that half will mate up to the other half. This puts them in a perfect line. Do the same to the other half. This will ensure that the the sections of the hardwood edges all fit perfectly. Dowels, floating tenons or even (yuck) biscuits work well to join the solid wood sections. I guess you could even use pocket screws on the underside but seems to me that should be a felony on fine furniture.

Next, you need trick number two: When you cut the circle on the outside of the laminated (or hardwood plywood) top, don't cut it so the SIDES of the cut are perpendicular to the top. Put a small angle, about 2-4 degrees or so, on it. Then, when you cut the circle on the inside of the hardwood ring, do the same thing at the same angle. I use a router and a shopmade jig to do this. It is best to sneak up on the cut, or you're sure to have to remake something.