X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jointing edges

From the question you will see that I'm new to woodworking.

If plan directions tell you to rip a piece to finished width, i.e. 1 1/2" from lets say a 5 1/2" wide board, do you rip it exactly 1 1/2" or do you leave some waste and then run it through a jointer or a router table, to final dimension? I have the 3612 TS with the delivered blade. Would this blade, or any blade, produce an edge that needs no additional work?

Thanks, Bernie

it has been my practice to rip a little wider and joint it down. i use a CMT blade, which does a great job but if a table saw could do it, there wouldnt be jointers. there are saw blades out there such as the forrest ww2, or freud glue line rip, i have heard good things about them but i still think jointing the boards is the way to go
    \"A SHIP OF WAR IS THE BEST AMBASSADOR\"<br /><br />OLIVER CROMWELL

Comment

Did the plans call for joining two boards edge to edge, unlikely if the plans call for a 1 1/2" finished width, or is this edge an outside surface of whatever you're building? There is no need to joint a board unless it will be glued to the edge of another creating a wider board. Two boards joined perpendicular to each other usually dont require any jointing. My TS2412 with a thin kerf Freud rips well enough that a pass with a hand plan is generally all I need for jointing.

Comment

Do you have a jointer? Router table? What option and technique you use for a glueline will depend on the tools at hand. Space's reply hit the nail on the head about jointers.