X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hand planes

I’ve been considering purchasing a decent hand plane (LV #4), I don’t own one nor have I ever used one. I was just wondering how many of you use them and to what extent. I know there are dedicated hand tool forums out there but they seem to be occupied by people that are obsessed about their hand tools and I thought I would get more unbiased opinions here.

Thanks

Woodslayer

I'm a newbie to woodworking, but if you would like my thoughts . . .

A while back, someone was asking about jointers (or is it joiners?) and planers, or which to do first or something like that. One of the responders talked about hand planes, and included a remark like "a good hand plane will leave a finish that a power planer can only dream of." Got me thinking. I only have a RAS and router, and was thinking about jointers and planers next. Got me thinking a lot.

Began to realize that many posts about planers contain references to "snipe," which apparently is bad. And, they are unable to get completely rid of it. Got me thinking more and more.

Complaints about the precision, or lack of, with which various brands of jointers are made kept my thinking going on and on. . .

When I consider the time in setting up a jointer and planer, the amount of wood working I do or will do, the kind of work I want to do, I think that I will actually spend less time working with a set of hand planes than with a jointer and planer. I like the environment in a shop that is less mechanized too.

Comment

You have to look at the time you are willing to invest too. A 13" planer will do in minutes what would takes hours and hours by hand with almost as good (and for the average woodworker good as or better than) results.

I could drill a nice 1-1/4" holes with a brace and bit in a couple minutes, but can do it jaust as well with a drill motor and fostner bit.