X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Advice on C-man Saw Purchase

I'm rather new to woodworking, and I've been looking for a [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]table [COLOR=blue !important]saw[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] for some time. I don't need anything portable, because I'll be using the saw solely in my garage workshop and I won't be moving it anywhere else. As a result, I'm not even considering the plastic portable saws made by Bosch, Dewalt, Craftsman, Ryobi, etc.

My original thought was to purchase the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Porter [COLOR=blue !important]Cable[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] contractor saw that Lowe's sells for about $600.00. It seems like a good saw, it's made in Taiwan (not China) and it does not have the potential blade alignment problems that the Ridgid 4512 and Craftsman 21833 reportedly have.

However, I've been looking around on Ebay and Craigslist. My original thought was to try and find a like new Ridgid 3612, 2424, or 3650. But, I think the ship may have sailed on that, at least until someone invents a time machine.

But, a few days ago, I found what I thought might be the "Holy Grail". It's a New, sealed in the box Craftsman belt-driven contractor saw from 1996, essentially the parent of the 1999-2003 Ridgid saws. The guy told me he's had it sitting in his garage since the 90's and never bothered to open it or put it together. However, it's an Emerson built saw and the box says "Made in the USA".

If I buy it from the guy, I will be going to his place in person so I will see the saw (even if I have to open the box) before I buy it. He's asking $450 for it, and he told me he paid $600 originally. This seems plausible, as I found a copy of an old Sears ad from the mid-90's, and the saw indeed sold brand new for $600. I would never pay $450 if this were used, but brand new in the box is incredibly tempting...