X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS and radial arm saw feedback

First let me say I'm a rookie at doing wood. That said I do have a table saw and have the chance to pickup a sears radial arm saw for $100 which is about 20-25yrs old which still works as new. I would like to have some feedback the pros and cons of each of what they do and don't do the best.

thanks

Re: TS and radial arm saw feedback

A radial arm saw (RAS) will take your finger off a lot faster than a table saw (TS) will.
    Well, not faster but its more likely to happen IF you are not careful.

They both need your respect at all times but a RAS maybe a little more so just because of the way
    the blade is exposed.

I'd say get the RAS, then search here for loads of info on these saws and most important BEFORE you
    buy go to www.radialarmsawrecall.com and see if the saw is elligible for a free guard upgrade.

You'll need the model number and serial number of the saw to find out, so call and ask for those from
    the seller but I would not tell him why you want to know. Just say you want to compare to a
    friends saw which is roughly of the same vintage or something like that.

The serial number and model number plate will be on the stand under the table top either on the front near the elevation crank or on the side of the stand again under the table.

I think for $100 a RAS is worth having if you have the room. Some use nothing but a RAS. The only difficult task is ripping sheet goods which you can do on a pair of horses with a track saw or a circ saw and a guide.
    Last edited by Bob D.; 11-29-2012, 10:12 PM.
    ---------------
    Light is faster than sound. That's why some people seem really bright until you hear them speak.
    ---------------
    “If I had my life to live over again, I'd be a plumber.” - Albert Einstein
    ---------
    "Its a table saw.... Do you know where your fingers are?"
    ---------