Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS3612 vs. the competition

Hi all,

Many kudos to Ridgid for sponsoring this open forum. It definitely inclines me toward considering their tools, despite the lackluster displays at HD.

I'm in the market for my first TS. I have some experience, but have never owned one. I'm looking in the $500 or so range. I'd like something that will satisfy me over the long haul, though it will see limited use due to the limited time I have to use it for home projects.

The TS3612 looks tempting in this price range. The major competitors I am considering are the Delta 36-650, Jet JWTS-10 and Grizzly 1022. Does anyone have experience or pros/cons to offer for the TS3612 relative to these others? Any info or comments will be appreciated.

Thanks
    Tim

(I just posted this in response to a 3612 thread in the general discussions group, but thought I'd paste it here since you asked about the 3612.)

My impressions of the 3612:

I bought the 3612 this past weekend and love it so far. The fence locks square every time. The 3612's I looked at in two different HD's were not setup properly, and it wouldn't surprise me if the fence in the stores wouldn't lock square because the time was not taken to align the fence rails properly. If you take your time and do the alignments while you are assembling the saw, it will work fine. I like having the large rip capacity that the longer rails provide (36" vs 24") without having to go to extremely long rails.

I was originally planning on going with an aftermarket fence at some point, but now I don't feel the need (may still consider an Incra TSIII, but that's in a different ballpark). The fence will also easily take additions because of the T-slots in the sides and top. It looks very versatile.