X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TP1300 Planer--chips jamming in the outfeed

I've been using a new TP1300 for about 2 months planing only Pine. Suddenly last week , the wood chips started jamming in the outfeeder. Once this happens the chips fall back in and the roller presses them into the top of the wood.

I've cleaned off the roller, the outfeed area and replaced the blades but get the same problem instantly.

I can only take about 1/64 of a cut off at a time and still have problems.

Any suggestions?

Remove the cover over the knives and clean the area where the chips exit the machine out good, then spray silcone spray over that area and the underside of the cover. Wipe off the excess. This should keep the chips from sticking in the chute and help clear them out better.

Jake

Comment

Last night I found a large build up of resin between the cutter head and the metal in the path the chips have to take up from the cutter.

Cleaned this out last night and hope to test tonight to confirm that was the problem.

--Spoke to Mike @ Ridgid's 1 800# and he confirmed this was likely the issue.

Comment

My only big problem is trying to get the wood to feed itself through the planer.Pine works OK but when you try oak or other hardwoods I have to push and pull it through.I've cleanned rollers,replaced blades but it's been this way for some time now. Do other planers do this?Mine is the 1300 model.I tried a 6ft. piece of oak the other night and I thought I was going to have to clamp it to the table to keep from pushing it off. I had to push the board that hard to get it planed.I was taking off less than a 16th of an inch. I know this problem has been brought up before. What causes this problem???????

Comment

Have you waxed the bed? My stationary planer doesn't like to feed right if the bed isn't waxed.

Dave

Comment