X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• rough sawn lumber

I'm a newbie just trying to get started and need a little advice. I have access to some rough sawn lumber and would like to use this for my early projects while I'm learning the ropes.

My question is, what do I need to sqaure up my lumber? I know the planer (TP1300 is on the wishlist) is necessary. What else might I need? I'm a NY watcher and have seen Norm use the joiner for the first pass (along the width of the board) but a lot of the wood I have is pretty wide and I wouldn't be able to use the joiner for a cut across its width. How do you get the first side flat if it's wider than the joiner or you don't have a joiner (yet). Can the planer do this for you?

I know this is probably common knowledge but I appreciate your paitence with a newbie.

Thanks in advance!!!

Edge the board on the jointer to get the edge square. Rip to the desired width on table saw plane to thickness.
    NO NO NO- I engineered it to look like that!! Crooked-HA!

Comment

First you mant to establish a flat face. Two ways to do this, ok, three ways.

First would be with hand planes!

Get a good flat face using either a jointer (the "best" way) or the thickness planer. Since I have a jointer, this is what I use. After I establish a flat face, I plane down to the desired thickness. Then I establish a flat edge with the jointer.
      Support Our Troops!
      www.mnpatriotguard.org
      www.patriotguard.org

Comment

Thanks, I know just enough to be dangerous at this point. I appreciate all the advice I can get. =)

Comment