X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1966 Emerson / Craftsman 113.29902 Questions

I am new to woodworking and inherited this saw from my father. Debating whether it is worth getting a new saw or just replacing the fence. I have been using it on and off for the past few months and have been pleased with everything but the fence and the size of the deck, if I only had a few more inches. I just don't trust the fence and don't feel like measuring everytime I cut.

Issue is getting a new fence is almost as expensive as the saw. But on the flip side sears doesn't have any of the accessories or parts anymore...What is one to do? Does Emerson still have those parts or are there any third parties that might work.

Thanks for the help.

I have the exact same saw. I agree completely about the fence. I built a clone of a Biesemeyer and used it for about 1 1/2 years like that, then a few months ago I bought the real Biesemeyer-what a difference! I added a Forrest WWII, an extension table w/ router insert, link belt w/ machined pulleys. In short, I've put quite a bit of $ into a saw that I bought used for $100. I'm very happy with it, and I don't think you can buy a new contractor saw that's as solid.
    A friend recently bought a new Powermatic 64, (a highly regarded saw), and it's easy to see how the inner workings of this high priced tool are not nearly as robust as the old Craftsman.
    Also, a new fence bought for this saw could be put on a new saw later on, if something does force you to replace it.
    I'd say as long as your table is flat, motor is good, and bearings are solid, this is a saw worth keeping.

Comment

Kevin - Did you build the extension or purchase with your Biesmeyer? I was looking at getting the Home version of the fence.

This saw has seen very little use. It was sitting in my fathers shed for years. I picked it up from him a few months ago.