X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Router Material Feed

I've never used a router before. While I think I'm a pretty smart guy, I look at this thing mounted on the router table and the direction of feeding the material mystifies me.

As I look at it, the bit points up at me and the arrow on the router points left. The bit spins counter-clockwise. A few test runs revealed to me that the unit wants to push whatever it is cutting to the left. Does that mean I feed from the right towards the left side? Does it matter what side the feed is from?

I read the instructions, it doesn't address this. It does warn about forceful ejection of material being routed and to practice good safety mannerisms.
    ~~

... it was plumbed by Ray Charles and his helper Stevie Wonder

Re: Router Material Feed

When using a router that is table mounted, the feed direction is right to left. When using a router hand held, the router is moved across from the LH side of the work piece to the RH side.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

Good Morning

Try this link. It shows the position of the bit relative to the fence and the feed direction.

Bill

http://www.woodcraft.com/Articles/Ar...?ArticleId=605

Comment

normally feed into the bits rotation just like a saw blade, just like everything there are some small exceptions to the rule, but 99.5% of the time feed into the bits rotation.
        Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
        ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."
        attributed to Samuel Johnson
        ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        PUBLIC NOTICE: Due to recent budget cuts, the rising cost of electricity, gas, and oil...plus the current state of the economy............the light at the end of the tunnel, has been turned off.

Comment