X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• table ratings

been looking at table saws have notice hp ratings are a little confusing some have higher lower ratings at the same amp draw and rpms are differant too whats best

im not an expert but some company's list max output of the motor (usually when they are starting ) sears is a good example. and other companys list the constant duty output of the motor. I think the latter is a more honest measure, after all what good is a 2hp motor if as soon as it developes the hp it blows a breaker or overload switch bill

Comment

BVWW has hit the nail on the head. There are two ratings that you will see for tools with induction motors (the type you see on a cast iron table saw), one is a rated horsepower, the other max developed. The rated horsepower is a relatively standard rating from motor manufacturers and is the most reliable for comparison. Max developed hp is a rating that pushes the usefulness of the motor. A general rule of thumb for induction motors is the actual rated Hp is 1/2 the Max developed.

Jake

Comment

So Jake in the case of the TS2424, it is rated at 1-1/2 true usable HP... It could develop 3 HP at startup or with no load... Do I understand this right? Not that it matters that much, just trying to figure it all out…
        Regards,<br /><br />Big Johnson<br /><br />Pictures: <a href=\"http://www.woodworkersweb.com/modules.php?set_albumName=albuv85&op=modload&name= gallery&file=index&include=view_album.php\" target=\"_blank\">http://www.woodworkersweb.com/modules.php?set_albumName=albuv85&op=modload&name= gallery&file=index&include=view_album.php</a>

Comment

You are correct. The rated Hp for the TS3612 is 1 1/2 hp meaning under normal use that is about what the saw motor is developing. This is the same as 3 hp max developed.

Comment