Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to install inserts?

Hi everyone!
    I recently started a crib project that uses threaded steel inserts. I have never used these before and was wandering if there is any secrets to installing them. I drilled the holes the size specified for the inserts, but they seem to not want to go all the way in. They protrude about 1/8 of an inch. The holes are 1" deep and the inserts are 3/4" long. Please give any tips or suggestions you might have. Thanks, AaronR

Based on a guess:

Remove the inserts from their hole, and see if the shavings from the threading have piled up at the bottom. Those inserts cut threads, the material has to go somewhere...

Dave

Comment

[img]smile.gif[/img] Thanks for the reply. I did check that since the insert has a threaded hole that goes all the way through. I could see in there and had blown out any small shavings that were produced. There shouldn't be nearly enough to fill 1/4" space left of the hole (3/4" insert in 1" deep hole). I think that maybe I should try the next bit size up 3/8" -> 13/32" on a piece of scrap and see if it still mantains a tight fit and sinks all the way. The inserts are being used in Maple. Unfortunately, the inserts I installed are in so tight I can't get them out normally. The allen key socket stretched out enough where the key wont turn the insert anymore. I guess I might have to use an EZ-Out and consider those inserts a "trial". Thanks again...

Comment

Well, it must of just been the maple. I installed the inserts in the birch with out any problems. I still used the 3/8" hole. The maple must have a much tighter grain that doesn't give as easily. Since the inserts fit tightly in the hole, the friction from the tighter grain (acting like a clamp) must have been my problem..

Comment

There's no doubt there, Maple is much tighter grained than Birch, and Hard Maple is a lot harder too.