having pride in your work

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• having pride in your work

one of the greatest things about woodworking is the pride you have in your work.
    its a universal thing that is highly gratifying in doing a nice job.
    and a craftsmans pride shows up in his work.
    I for one do not like to use any particle board at all
    I prefer cut and sanded boards and rarely use plywood.
    handcrafted furniture can command premium prices and many people look for this as well.
    i think the hardest part of doing quality work is parting with it.
    shooting the s*** is a lot more fun when you use hollow points (much more splatter)

coffee hell gimme booze!!!

Re: having pride in your work

I will provide an alternate view on this post bearing in mind I'm a novice woodworker myself.

Definitely one should take pride in doing good job when making something out of wood and crafting it well. It will be a source of pride for sure when finished.

As far as materials though they all do have their place. Some of you may have seen my "Cherry Entertainment Center" thread. That project in addition to real wood also uses plywood and melamine. Why? The black melamine in some non-critical areas to go with the black color of many entertainment systems (wood painted black would not look as good) and plywood for dealing with wood movement. For large solid carcases plywood can be a better choice to minimize warping and bowing. There are also other techniques such as shiplapping to deal with wood movement issues.