X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sanding & polishing table saw top

A friend had rust from a table saw removed by sand blasting the bottom and glass beading (like sand blasting except using tiny glass beads) the top. Though the rust is gone, the glassbeading left the top with a slight rough finish. How can one sand and/or polish the top to make it nice and smooth again?
    Thanks,
    Rick

Rick---you were sooooo, close---it's called bead blasting . Now, I'm no expert, but why would anyone blast a surface which is supposed to be fairly flat? One moment of hesitation in blasting and the top could have a depression---well, maybe more than a moment, but you get the idea.

The first thing I'd do is check the table flatness---remove the insert and start checking with an accurate straight edge. I've heard that flatness difference about the thickness of a piece of computer paper (20# or so) is ok.

If it's way out of wack---your friend would be better off taking the top and wings to a machine shop and have the surface milled.

Depending on how deep the roughness is, I've gotten a fairly good results with a random orbital sander and aluminum oxide paper. In fact, to bring this full circle, for rust, I used the same method, but added spraying the top with Simple Green.
    Dave

Comment