X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RAS versus TS

I am new to woodworking, other than highschool shop many years ago. In an effort to get back into it, I bought a Ridgid RAS because of its ability to crosscut, rip, bore, sand, and miter.

Issue: After reading all the postings about how dangerous the RAS is versus a TS, and the fact that many of you seem to avoid ripping at all costs, I am thinking I made a mistake. I will be making garage cabinets (frame+drawers+doors) for my initial projects. I do not see myself making anything much more fine at this point. Perhaps later.

Q: If I have NO power say equipment (just starting) and no formal training (just starting) would you suggest I stick with the TS versus the RAS?

I started out with a table saw. I don't know about it being safer. I believe that a power tool is only as safe as it's operator. Many people have been biten by the TS. I know I have, "ONCE". Fortunatly I didn't have to lose any body parts to learn my lesson. I didn't realize that you could rip with a RAS, but the setup looks a bit more busy than ripping with a TS. I've never used a RAS so I can't really say which would be better though.

Comment

Catman, I've got both of them and I would prefer the TS.I've been woodworking for years now and I find myself using the TS about 85% more than the RAS. I guess it depends on what you are using it for. I mainly make small crafts and things.
      I am in the market for a good used "RIDGID" RAS though. It will make my "Ridgid" shop complete. Right now my RAS is a Craftsman 10".There is nothing wrong with what I've got but I would like to go all "Ridgid".
      Donny

Comment