Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First post - TS3650 - I want it but not sure it's right for me

Hi Everyone:

I see the TS3650 @ home depot in Canada and think it is a well built machine. I am new to woodworking, but when I compare it to anything else that's around the same price or less, the others just don't seem to compare as far as build quality.

My problem, however, is also the substantial build quality. at 290 lbs. (the saw that is), and living in an apartment, I am not sure that it is the best for me. I want something that is exactly like the TS3650, except lighter and easier to move and around the same price ($599 Cdn @ home depot). I doubt that anything is made like that, but I thought I would ask if anyone has any suggestions.

A couple of options here - I could put it on my balcony, but living in Ontario, Canada, I'm not sure how the cold would affect it. Being the weight that it is, I cannot simply manoever it back inside during the winter like i could with a portable saw. Is the cold a problem for this machine?

I guess the reason I'm asking all this is that it is $599 Canadian right now at Homedepot and I want it, but think that all my friends and family would think I'm berserk for putting it in an apartment, especially considering the size and weight of it (although the apartment and balcony are not bad sized either). Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

One other question - how is the noise on this saw compared to, say, the bosch 4000-9? Noise reduction in my apartment is pretty good, but something that is too noisy will cause my neighbours to be upset.

Thanks for any advice,

Paul